31 July 2014

The Canadian Propane Association (CPA) Hosts Third Successful Leadership Summit – Leading from the Front

From May 13 to 15, 2014, the CPA held its third Leadership Summit, Leading from the Front, at The Westin Ottawa Hotel in Ottawa, Ontario.

Over 150 attendees travelled from across Canada and beyond to share experiences and best practices, learn from expert presenters, visit the many exhibitors and enjoy a round of golf at the Gatineau Golf & Country Club.

Delegates packed the meeting rooms to hear well-received industry-related presentations on supply and demand, the effects of winter 2013-2014 on the propane industry, advice on crisis communications, the use of propane in mining, the U.S. experience with natural gas expansion, updates on regulatory requirements and the LPG Emergency Response Corp. Pictured: Delegates observe the Q & A Panel "Where do we go from here?" featuring Gerry Goobie (Gas Processing Management Inc.), Jeff Kralowetz and Elizabeth Hampton (Argus Media), and Jane Shapiro (Hill + Knowlton Strategies).

The three national CPA committees and the Board of Directors also held meetings in person on May 13. During the Board meeting, the Directors approved a new Association policy: “The CPA believes that taxes on energy used for heating should be applied consistently.” The CPA Policy Manual is available to members by logging on to The Grid.

Thank you to all CPA members and guest speakers for their contribution to a great event! The next CPA Leadership Summit is scheduled for 2016. Details will be circulated to members as they become available. 2014 Leadership Summit photos, presentations and a list of the sponsors will be made available in the coming weeks on the CPA website.

CPA Annual General Meeting

At the CPA Annual General Meeting (AGM) on May 13 in Ottawa, the following members accepted the opportunity to serve a second term on the CPA Board:

  • Andy Bite (SLEEGERS Engineered Products Inc.)
  • John Huddle (Diversco Supply Inc.)
  • Guy Marchand (Budget Propane 1998 Inc.)
  • Bruce Moore (Moore Propane Ltd.)
  • Scott Rurak (Kiros Energy Marketing)
  • Greg Thibodeau (Pembina Pipeline Corporation)

As per CPA by-laws, any Board Director in their first term that indicates a willingness to stand for re-election to a second term is automatically re-elected.

In keeping with CPA by-laws, the Board filled two seats by Board nomination that had been vacant since the inception of the CPA – Susannah Robinson (Superior Propane) was nominated for the National Retail Marketer seat and Darryl Campbell (Canwest Propane) was nominated for the second Western Retail Marketer seat. As they had not been voted in by the membership, these seats were up for election this year. Both Ms. Robinson and Mr. Campbell agreed to stand for election and, with no other nominations for these seats, they were acclaimed to the Board.

Guy Marchand was elected by the Board to serve as Chair and Gary Highfield (Wilson’s Fuel Co. Limited) to serve as Vice-Chair. Both will serve a two-year term in the respective positions. For a complete list of current CPA Board members, seats and terms, please visit the CPA website.